Cooking with Lynn {Failure at its Finest}

Last night I went to my dad’s and we did some cookin’. (With my step mom, not my dad lol) If you remember last time, I was super excited for this!

I saw this on Pinterest awhile ago and it just looked so darn good. Doesn’t it?!

smoky sweet potato burger

smoky sweet potato burger with roasted garlic cream and avocado

Well, we made them. The verdict? Definitely not what I was expecting. They were pretty nasty. I think they would’ve been good if they weren’t “smoked”. I do not like “smoked”. But the garlic cream and avocado? Deelish. The only reason I finished it.

I did learn something very valuble from this recipe though- the difference between a sweet potato and yam! I think I’m more of a sweet potato girl 😉

Photo1 (41)

The second contender:

warm-quinoa-salad-with-edamame-tarragon-4708-l

warm edamame and quinoa salad

I was really excited for this because it was the first time I ever tried quinoa! I can’t believe I hadn’t tried it yet, haha. It’s like the most prominent healthy people food! It was also my first time trying edamame.

Well this wasn’t too good either. I liked the quinoa and edamame, but overall it was not a winner.

Photo1 (43)

 

And our third try:

Skinny Chunky Monkey Cookies

 

….. yuck. They smelled good, looked good, but did not taste very good. I think they needed a little more sweetness. They were just really bland.

Photo1 (44)

 

3 strikes… Didn’t think you could have 3 fails in one night! Oh well!

 

So, it was not a very successful cooking night. But, I got to try some new foods and still had a good time! You win some, you lose some, right?

Happy WIAW! Thanks to Jenn for hosting, as always 😀

9 thoughts on “Cooking with Lynn {Failure at its Finest}

  1. Pingback: WIAW: Yummy Day and Cooking with Lynn! | minougirl

Leave a comment