Lake Antoine Classic 15k

Ever heard of a 15k? Me either, which is why I had to run this race! I know I didn’t let anyone know I was running, but I didn’t even know I was running until the day before the race.

Prerace dinner =

Photo3 (22)

So a 15k. Three 5k’s. 9.3 miles. I had no idea how I should plan to run. Keep a fast pace? Start slow? It’s an odd distance. What I ended up doing was start at a comfortable but quick pace, and at mile 5 start picking it up little by little. It was actually a trail run, not road race. The course was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. We ran around a big lake on a tucked away trail where no motor vehicles are allowed. We were in the shade for the good part of the race (yes!).

Photo2 (46)

My goal pace was to get 8 minute miles or lower. I mean, if I can do an 8:04 min/mile for 13.1 miles, I should be able to, right?

time

Well, I did! I finished in 1:12:30, a 7:48 pace!

Photo2 (47)

Afterwards I had a banana, half a bagel, and a Clif Crunchy Peanut Butter bar. <— yum. I wore my Mizuno Wave Rider 16′s.

run group

The rest of the day was spent with a bath, a nap, and a pizza. Blt pizza, to be exact! (I did pick quite a bit of bacon off. But I left some!)

I think this’ll be my last race before cross country season which starts on the 12th! I am excii-ted!

Have you ever ran any weird race distances? What is your favorite race distance?

Happy Monday loves!

15 thoughts on “Lake Antoine Classic 15k

  1. I have never heard of a 15k, but that’s so much fun. Once at a xc meet, they had an 8k. Like what is that? It was the awkwardest distance I’ve ever run, but I have to admit I don’t know many people who have run an 8k! That’s so crazy how fast you finished the race! You go girl!

  2. Great job on your race! I like the idea of a 15k. It’s long enough that it’s still more of a push than a 10k, but short enough that it’s not quite as tortuous as the end of a half!

  3. Awesome job!! 5th place and first in your age group?? So cool. You are so fast! (: I’ve never done a 15k, but I’ve never even done a 10k. I also can’t wait for my CC season to start. Mine starts on the 15th! I’m currently doing lower milage because of shin splints/overuse injury and I’m so nervous for the season to start.

    • Thanks! I’m actually having a few pains, and I’m not used to that AT ALL so I’m taking it easy this week. It’s gonna be weird to have two races a week!

  4. I had never heard of a 15k either, but clearly you rocked it!!! Your pace is incredible to say the least! GREAT JOB!!! :D I can’t wait to see how your CC season goes. I know you’re going to do awesome!

Leave a Reply

